Skip to content

The Wind

June 19, 2012

   catch the wind
   blow my exile away
   I don’t care where we go
   just so long as it’s far
   far away from here
   anywhere but here

follow the wind
watching the storm rolling in
really don’t know how much more I can wait
braved the rough straits expected of a good man
still, still fortune turns her face away
she won’t stay

   catch the wind
   blow my exile away
   I don’t care where we go
   just so long as it’s far
   far away from here
   anywhere but here

follow the wind
before the rain falls again
already know sweet lady’s come and gone
stranded so long another season changes
still, still fortune turns her face away
she won’t stay

curse the wind anyway

reel the maiden round today
grant me fair weather and clear skies
let me fly

barter my will for all my days
she won’t stay, she won’t stay
barter my will for all my days
she won’t stay

   catch the wind
   blow my exile away
   I don’t care where we go
   just so long as it’s far
   far away from here
   anywhere but here

anywhere but here

 

 

©2003 Gentry Avenue Productions. All Rights Reserved.


For more about this story, please clickSongs of the Servant – A Trilogy. Thank you!

26 Comments leave one →
  1. June 19, 2012 3:34 pm

    Those words are very gripping, George! xo

  2. Anna Maria Elisa Manalo permalink
    June 19, 2012 5:18 pm

    Once again a very lyrical poem. Will you be making into a song? You are so prolific!

    • June 19, 2012 8:51 pm

      Thanks, Elisa! It will definitely be recorded. In fact, musically this song features an instrumental section that has become one of my favorite guitar interludes to perform. One of these days!

  3. June 19, 2012 5:31 pm

    I really like this one. Well done!!!

  4. June 19, 2012 9:04 pm

    I am nominating you for a Reader Appreciation Award….http://makebelieveboutique.com/2012/06/19/2842/
    Enjoy!

  5. June 20, 2012 3:40 pm

    & Kites rise against, not with, the wind….blow it more…
    Loved the way you breathed: “Blow my exile away”
    Peace

    • June 21, 2012 1:35 pm

      Love that metaphor, Mira Jay. Great way to frame it! I really appreciate your insightful perspective.
      Cheers!

  6. sarahjaneprosetry permalink
    June 20, 2012 11:15 pm

    “Barter my will for all my days”

    Brilliance. One of those lines I wish I created. Nicely done.

    • June 21, 2012 1:41 pm

      Thanks, Sarah Jane! The compromise we face sometimes becomes a turning point. Glad you stopped by!

  7. June 21, 2012 7:58 am

    Beautiful liberating…i am singing it now..take me away somewhere far to a distant green
    George excellent love love love your words the way they take shape,the way you weave music
    big hugs

    • June 21, 2012 1:47 pm

      I’d love to hear you singing these lines, Soma! Something tells me you breathe added depth to the image and place. :)
      Cheers!

  8. June 21, 2012 7:12 pm

    “anywhere but here” – that is sad, for the ‘here’ must be bad. Will the ‘there’ be any better, what does it matter.

    • June 21, 2012 8:55 pm

      Great point, Eric! In the long run, the answer to those two questions is singular and can only be found in the interior of oneself. If one is willing and brave enough to probe those vast spaces!

  9. summer4soul permalink
    June 24, 2012 6:36 pm

    I only can say: ‘Awesome!’ You’re good with words..

    • June 24, 2012 11:23 pm

      Thanks! Ideas and words are always an inviting challenge. I certainly appreciate your kind remarks!

  10. June 25, 2012 10:31 am

    I really felt this one—such momentum. Thank you!

    • June 25, 2012 12:23 pm

      I’m delighted that you liked it, August! And pleased that it stirs up emotions and leads somewhere different. Thanks!

  11. June 25, 2012 5:28 pm

    I can feel the wind! Well done!

  12. Francina permalink
    July 4, 2012 10:42 am

    beautifully written , George, and poignant song.

    Ciao, Francina

  13. vimal permalink
    July 5, 2012 12:25 pm

    nice…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 409 other followers

